West Des Moines, Iowa — The Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame (IIHOF) has announced this year’s inductees. This is the 26th anniversary of the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame. An induction ceremony for the 2023 honorees will be held at 5 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 17, at The Meadows Event Center in Altoona, Iowa. Registrations for the event are open until Oct. 6.

The IIHOF will also award a total of $25,000 to 11 students expecting to pursue insurance-related careers at the event.

To be eligible for consideration, IIHOF nominees must have an Iowa connection, serve as a role model for young people as well as others in the insurance business, exhibit the highest standards of ethical conduct and have significantly impacted the insurance industry.

The 2023 inductees are:

Newton Bowers, former professor of Actuarial Science, Drake University (posthumous)

Newton Bowers, distinguished professor of actuarial science at Drake University for over 25 years, played a pivotal role in shaping the Actuarial Science program at Drake into one of the nation’s best. His dedication to education and mentorship left a lasting impact on countless students who went on to excel in the insurance and financial services industries. Bowers’ contributions included the authorship of influential actuarial textbooks and significant leadership roles within the academic community. Bowers died in 2016.

Mark Klever, agency branch manager, Johnson & Sons, Inc.

Klever began his career as an educator and coach before joining Johnson & Sons Insurance Agency. He was very involved with the Independent Insurance Agents of Iowa (IIAI), serving in various leadership roles, including as President of the group, and winning the H. Red Nelson Agent of the Year award. The Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America’s (IIABA) selected Klever to serve on the national Rural Agents Committee, which he later chaired. Klever’s dedication to community service was equally notable, with 50 years of Lions Club membership, organizing eye-care mission trips, and supporting education opportunities for children in developing countries.

John Lillis, Lillis Insurance

Lillis, a respected insurance professional and community stalwart, embarked on his insurance career as a teenager, shouldering the responsibility of supporting his family following his father’s death. He eventually became the owner of Lillis Insurance, where he tirelessly served his clients for half a century. John’s involvement in the insurance industry included influential roles in national committees and earned him the H. Red Nelson Agent of the Year award from the Big I. Beyond his professional life, Lillis was a dedicated volunteer firefighter and a pillar of the Williamsburg community.

Steve Morain, former general counsel, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Iowa Farm Bureau Federation

Morain served as Senior Vice President and General Counsel with Farm Bureau Financial Services and the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation for 25 years. Under his guidance, the insurance group expanded its reach, becoming a national powerhouse offering a diverse portfolio of products. Morain also dedicated himself to numerous civic and community organizations, leaving an indelible mark on Des Moines and Iowa.

For more information:
Chris Murphy
IIHOF Selection Committee Chair


About the IIHOF

The Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame was founded in 1997 to recognize outstanding contributions to the Iowa insurance industry. A selection committee evaluates nominations on standards including ethics and impact on the industry. The Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame is a non-profit 501(c)3 corporation and donations can be tax deductible. Learn more at www.iihof.org.