Now Accepting Nominations for 2015

by Robert Conroy, CPCU, CIC on September 18, 2014

The Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame is now accepting nominations for consideration in 2015.


To be eligible for consideration, nominees must have an Iowa connection, serve as a role model for young people as well as others in the insurance business, exhibit the highest standards of ethical conduct, and have significantly impacted the insurance industry. The deadline for new nominations ,and updates to to previous nominations, is March 1, 2015. Additional information about the nomination process can be found by clicking here.

Richard E. Olson 1929 – 2014

by Robert Conroy, CPCU, CIC on August 18, 2014

Richard E. Olson died as a result of a traffic accident, August 05, 2014 in Dedham, Maine.

Olson 2014He was passionate about life – making an impact, making life better for everyone. He was always looking for a better way. Revitalizing downtown Des Moines was his priority. He was a visionary who created excitement and showed people what Des Moines could become. Skywalks, Civic Center, Botanical Garden – when he dreamed, he dreamed big.

Visitation will be at Iles Dunn’s Chapel from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Friday, August 22, 2014. Funeral services will be held at Noon on Saturday, August 23, 2014, at Lutheran Church of Hope in West Des Moines, Iowa. Burial will follow at Glendale Cemetery in Des Moines. In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to Animal Lifeline of Iowa, 4521 SE 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50320, or Woodland Cemetery Restoration, 4909 University, Des Moines, Iowa 50311.

Mr. Olson was a 1999 inductee to the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame. Click here to view his profile page from the 1999 induction ceremony.

Voss Joins IIHOF Board

by Robert Conroy, CPCU, CIC on July 22, 2014

Susan_Voss 217pxSusan E. Voss, J.D., has joined the Board of Directors of the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame. Voss was the insurance commissioner for the State of Iowa from 2005 to 2013. She also served as president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioner (NAIC) in 2011. She is a member of the Iowa insurance Hall of Fame and was inducted in 2013. Click here for her bio from the 2013 induction ceremony.

2014 IIHOF Financial Sponsors

by Robert Conroy, CPCU, CIC on July 8, 2014

The financial support we receive from our sponsors is what allows the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame to continue recognizing outstanding contributions to the Iowa insurance industry.  A big thank you to all of our 2014 sponsors:

|  American Equity Investment Life  |  American Republic Insurance Co  |   Chubb Insurance Group  |   EMC Insurance Companies  |  Farmers Mutual Hail Ins Co of Iowa  |  FBL Financial Group (Farm Bureau)  |  Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance  |  Holmes Murphy & Associates  |  Homesteaders Life Company  |  IMT Group  |  Independent Insurance Agents of Iowa  |  Iowa CPCU Society Chapter  |  Iowa Insurance Institute  |  Iowa Mutual Insurance – DeWitt  |  Insurance Association of Greater Des Moines  |  Kelley Continuing Education Program  |  LaMair Mulock Condon Co  |  Merchants Bonding Company  |  Mutual Insurance Association of Iowa  |  Nationwide  |  NCMIC  |  Partners Mutual Insurance Company  |  Poweshiek Agency Inc  |  Reynolds & Reynolds  |  Principal Financial Group  |  Steve Roe  |  State Auto Insurance  |  TrueNorth  |  United Fire Group  |

Dr. Therese M. Vaughan Receives Award

by Robert Conroy, CPCU, CIC on June 5, 2014

Dr. Therese M. Vaughan

The Association of Professional Insurance Women (APIW) Insurance Woman of the Year award, presented annually since 1976, recognizes an exceptional woman who has achieved prominence in the insurance industry.

Dr. Therese M. Vaughan was chosen as this year’s award recipient in recognition of her outstanding achievements and leadership within the industry, as well as her commitment to the advancement of women. Dr. Vaughan is a member of the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame and was inducted in 2003.  Click here to read her 2003 IIHOF profile page.

IIHOF 2014 Induction Ceremony Photographs

May 28, 2014

Professional photographs from the 2014 Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held at Drake University on May 20, 2014, are now available from Todd Hugen Photography. There are 119 photographs available. You will find several options for ordering prints.  Click here to view the photographs.

Read the full article →

Congratulations 2014 Inductees!

May 1, 2014

    The Board of Directors of the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fames is please to introduce the inductees for 2014:

Read the full article →

2014 University of Iowa – Scholarship Recipient: Taylor Keykendall

April 24, 2014

Taylor is from Washington, Illinois, and a Junior at the University of Iowa. She will graduate in May 2015 with a degree in Finance and a Spanish minor, with Certificates in both International Business and Risk Management and Insurance. She is active in various student organizations including Alpha Chi Omega Sorority, Tippie Senate, Alpha Kappa […]

Read the full article →

2014 Drake University – Scholarship Recipient: Jacob Hewitt

April 24, 2014

Jacob will be a junior at Drake University in the fall of 2014. He is majoring in Accounting and Finance with an Insurance Concentration. Since coming to Drake, Jacob has been involved with the Drake Investment Club, Student Senate, and the Student Activities Board Homecoming Committee. He has held an executive position in both the […]

Read the full article →